The 7 Chakras

Chakras are the circular vortexes of energy that are placed in seven different points on the
spinal column, and all the seven chakras are connected to the various organs and glands
within the body. These chakras are responsible for disturbing the life energy, which is also
known as Qi or Praana.

Whenever a chakra is disrupted or blocked, the life energy also gets blocked, leading to
the onset of mental and health ailments. When the harmonious balance of the seven
chakras is disrupted or damaged, it can cause several problems in our lives, including our
physical health, emotional health and our mental state of mind. Our 7 chakra bracelets
represent these:

Each of the seven chakras carries a specific meaning and colour, and in this article, we will
walk you through the significance of all the seven chakras, their colours, and the areas of
our health and life these chakras tend to influence.


In Sanskrit, Mooladhara is known as the Root Chakra; this root defines our relationship
with Mother Earth. It influences our passion, creativity, youthfulness, vitality and most
importantly, our basic survival instincts. The Root Chakra is represented by the colour red,
which is also an indication for the need of logic, realistic thinking and order in our lives.

Moreover, it is also symbolic of our physical strength, our sexuality and the flight and fight
response that tends to activate within our body when we sense danger. The Root Chakra
is connected with the sense of smell within the body, and it is attached to the gland
known as Gonads.


Swadhisthana, or the Sacral Chakra, is symbolic of the water elements present within the
human body. It is represented by the colour orange, which tends to impact our ability to
be happy and joyful, compassionate, creative and passionate. It also influences our
desires, sexuality and our reproductive functions amongst others.

Within the human body, the Sacral Chakra is connected with our sense of taste, and it
impacts several organs and glands, including the bladder, the lymphatic system, pelvis,
the large intestine and the female reproductive organs.


Manipura, known as the Solar Plexus Chakra, is roughly translated to ‘City of Jewels’ and
it is regarded as one of the most powerful chakras that has profound influences on our
personal power. The Solar Plexus chakra represents our personal abilities and powers, and
it influences both our personal and professional success.
This chakra is represented by the colour yellow, which symbolises this energy vortex and
its connection with energy, fire, and charge amongst other powerful emotions. When this
fiery and powerful element is present in a harmonious balance, it allows us to be much
more energetic, active, confident and forthcoming with a cheerful disposition that allows
us to respect ourselves and others.

The Solar Plexus chakra is connected with our sense of sight, and it is connected with the
adrenal glands.


Anahata, or the Heart Chakra The Heart Chakra, is associated with the element of air
within the body, and it has the most profound influence on our professional and personal
This chakra is denoted by the colour green, and if the heart chakra is weak and fragile, it
can ruin our relationships with negative emotions, such as jealousy, envy, anger, distrust
and wrath. The Heart Chakra impacts our sense of touch, and it is connected to several
glands, including the lymph and thymus glands.


Much like the name suggests, Vishuddhi or Throat Chakra symbolises our true inner voice,
and our ability to communicate with others. It is represented by the colour blue, and it is
associated with our abilities to listen, empathise and communicate with others.

The extremely delicate and graceful element of the Throat chakra, when it is in a
harmonious balance, allows human beings to enjoy a beautiful voice, artistic potential,
creative ways of expression, and the ability to reach a higher spiritual abode with an acute
sense of spiritual awareness.

The Throat Chakra is connected to several organs and glands, including the throat, jaws,
neck vertebrae, thyroid, teeth, ears, oesophagus and the ears. Human beings that have a
balanced Throat Chakra have powerful artistic potential, along with the ability to meditate
freely and utilise their energy effectively.


Anja is the Third Eye Chakra, is often translated to ‘the centre of knowledge or
monitoring’. It is symbolised by the colour indigo, and is associated with our sense of
thought, our ability to rationalise, use logic and conduct an analysis to reach reasonable

Individuals who have a harmoniously balanced Third Eye Chakra have a very charming
and charismatic mind, they do not fear death or troubles, and their also have powerful
telepathic abilities.
This Chakra is connected with various glands, particularly the pituitary and pineal gland.
Our sense of thought is associated with the indigo colour of this chakra, along with the
elements of telepathic communication and electricity.


Sahasrara is the Crown Chakra, connected with the element of light, and associated with
several organs and glands within the body, including the brain, the hand, the nervous
system and the pituitary gland.

When this chakra is harmoniously balanced, it can provide individuals with some
extremely powerful abilities and potentials, including the ability to transcend all barriers
created by the laws of nature, to possess an increased awareness of death and
immortality, heightened spiritual powers and even the ability to create miracles.

You May Also Like

Meet S.N. Goenka

S.N. Goenka was a prominent Indian teacher of Vipassana meditation, a traditional form of Buddhist meditation that originated in India and has been practiced for

Read More »